City to airport tramline

Ideas and concepts of what Adelaide can be.
Benm16
Gold-Member ;)

City to airport tramline

#1 Post by Benm16 » Mon Oct 06, 2014 5:31 pm

Hi all,
In my summer holidays I've orginised to go to brisbane. Since I'm a Uni student and a little poor ahaha I've decide that when I get to the brisbane airport I will take the train into the city rather than a taxi coz it'll be cheaper. With that in mind I realised that if young people wanted to come to adelaide and didn't want to take a taxi the only other opinion is the shitty bus. I think it would be great if we built a tram that went from Victoria square to the airport and up the old ramp that isn't in use anymore. This would result in easier travel to the city from the airport.

ghs
Super Size Scraper Poster!

Re: City to airport tramline

#2 Post by ghs » Mon Oct 06, 2014 6:18 pm

Don't expect it to be cheap to catch the train from Brisbane airport.

You will probably find they will charge you an extra surcharge and it will cost you $20
or so. I know they do this in Sydney.

With Adelaide airport being so close to the city there's not so much need for a train line / tram line
to and from the city.

Norman
Donating Member
Donating Member

#3 Post by Norman » Mon Oct 06, 2014 7:03 pm

The tram line from the Airport to the city is in the plans at this stage, both in the long-term visions of the airport and the state government. And, yes, the Airtrain from Brisbane Airport is outrageously expensive.

neoballmon
Legendary Member!

#4 Post by neoballmon » Mon Oct 06, 2014 11:17 pm

I think if they put in a tram line, it should go up Airport Drive and along Henley Beach Road/Glover Drive.

HBR has a lot more retail opportunities to stop at, to increase local patronage. As well as the Thebarton Theatre. The school opposite would also most likely benefit.