Website not Secure?

Anything to do with the running of the website. (e.g. Suggestions, bugs, etc)
Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
rev
SA MVP (Most Valued Poster 4000+)
Posts: 4444
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 12:14 pm
Has thanked: 372 times
Been thanked: 530 times

Website not Secure?

#1 Post by rev » Wed May 09, 2018 4:35 pm

D867813D-D5F1-4402-9102-88FD2225DCB0.png
D867813D-D5F1-4402-9102-88FD2225DCB0.png (535.1 KiB) Viewed 6678 times
Never had this warning come up before.

User avatar
Nathan
Super Size Scraper Poster!
Posts: 3236
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 1:09 pm
Location: Bowden
Has thanked: 215 times
Been thanked: 697 times
Contact:

Re: Website not Secure?

#2 Post by Nathan » Wed May 09, 2018 8:06 pm

There's a move to expecting websites to be secured by an SSL certificate by default (particularly if there are forms to be submitted). Previously, unsecured sites appeared normal with secure sites being distinguished by a lock icon. Most recent versions of various browsers are now defaulting to labelling any site without a certificate to be tagged "not secure" (even if it's not necessary).

User avatar
Howie
VIP Member
VIP Member
Posts: 4795
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2005 3:55 pm
Location: Adelaide
Has thanked: 75 times
Been thanked: 41 times

Re: Website not Secure?

#3 Post by Howie » Wed May 09, 2018 8:08 pm

Could be SSL, but can you click on more info and post the results. Just want to make sure it hasn’t been blacklisted for any reason.

User avatar
rev
SA MVP (Most Valued Poster 4000+)
Posts: 4444
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 12:14 pm
Has thanked: 372 times
Been thanked: 530 times

Re: Website not Secure?

#4 Post by rev » Wed May 09, 2018 10:03 pm

I tried that before, and again now, but it wont show me anything besides the URL.
It appears only when I'm on mobile, and only when I press the username area to type in my username. Only just started happening today as well.

User avatar
Howie
VIP Member
VIP Member
Posts: 4795
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2005 3:55 pm
Location: Adelaide
Has thanked: 75 times
Been thanked: 41 times

Re: Website not Secure?

#5 Post by Howie » Thu May 10, 2018 10:35 am

Yeah I think all browsers are now mandating that anytime you pass through a password it needs to be over SSL encryption. I'll work towards getting a certificate in place.

User avatar
Howie
VIP Member
VIP Member
Posts: 4795
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2005 3:55 pm
Location: Adelaide
Has thanked: 75 times
Been thanked: 41 times

Re: Website not Secure?

#6 Post by Howie » Sun Aug 05, 2018 10:05 pm

Sorry it took a while but should be fixed now.

User avatar
rev
SA MVP (Most Valued Poster 4000+)
Posts: 4444
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 12:14 pm
Has thanked: 372 times
Been thanked: 530 times

Re: Website not Secure?

#7 Post by rev » Tue Aug 14, 2018 10:24 am

Howie wrote:
Sun Aug 05, 2018 10:05 pm
Sorry it took a while but should be fixed now.
Still coming up on iOS/Safari. Although I have noticed the same "website not secure" notification pop up on some other sites too when logging in while using Safari, so perhaps it's a an iOS/Safari issue, especially if you've applied a fix and it's still coming up...

User avatar
Howie
VIP Member
VIP Member
Posts: 4795
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2005 3:55 pm
Location: Adelaide
Has thanked: 75 times
Been thanked: 41 times

Re: Website not Secure?

#8 Post by Howie » Tue Aug 14, 2018 10:27 am

Could be caching issue on your device.

I've just checked and the certificate is now valid.
certs.PNG
certs.PNG (7.82 KiB) Viewed 5755 times

Bob
High Rise Poster!
Posts: 168
Joined: Mon Jun 26, 2017 3:16 pm
Has thanked: 61 times
Been thanked: 67 times

Re: Website not Secure?

#9 Post by Bob » Fri May 01, 2020 1:32 pm

For the past week or so, McAfee Firewall is blocking me access to this site.

It keeps reporting an intrusion is being detected, I have to manually allow each time.

This is the only site the Firewall keeps blocking.

Anyone else having this issue?

User avatar
rev
SA MVP (Most Valued Poster 4000+)
Posts: 4444
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 12:14 pm
Has thanked: 372 times
Been thanked: 530 times

Re: Website not Secure?

#10 Post by rev » Fri May 01, 2020 5:15 pm

Bob wrote:
Fri May 01, 2020 1:32 pm
For the past week or so, McAfee Firewall is blocking me access to this site.

It keeps reporting an intrusion is being detected, I have to manually allow each time.

This is the only site the Firewall keeps blocking.

Anyone else having this issue?
Nope, I just keep getting the issue I posted about above ages ago. But doesn't surprise me, this doesn't seem to be the latest version of phpBB.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest